Z is for Zones

Responsive Image

The Single Euro Payments Area (SEPA) explained.

What is SEPA?

The Single Euro Payments Area is a European Union initiative that has standardised electronic Euro payments to make it easier to transact across Europe. In total, there are 34 countries in the SEPA zone – comprised of 28 EU Member States, plus Iceland, Norway, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Switzerland and San Marino.

What does SEPA mean for me?

Making payments (credit transfers, direct debits and cards) in Euro across the SEPA Zone is just as easy and convenient as making payments in Ireland.

Related topics

Responsive Image

is for Jargon Buster

Sometimes it seems like banking has a language of its very own.

Responsive Image

is for Contactless Payments

What are contactless payments?