KBC Bank Ireland Returns As Title Sponsor of National Student Media Awards


2016 KBC National Student Media Awards Programme announced.

KBC Bank Ireland is delighted to return as title sponsor of the National Student Media Awards (Smedias) for a second year. Now in their sixteenth year, the Smedia Awards celebrate gifted media students from across Ireland and act as a key launch pad for those students who are looking to fast track their careers in the media industry. Receiving an award is a huge distinction and over the past fifteen years the Awards have provided Ireland’s hardworking young people with a unique platform from which they can announce themselves to the world. Last year’s awards had over 1,000 entries and an exceptional turn out on the night with over 600 students, sponsors, celebrities, and media icons in attendance.
Aidan Power, Director of Customer, Brand & Marketing at KBC Bank Ireland said: KBC Bank is delighted to return as the title sponsor of the Smedia awards for a second year. The Awards provide a great platform for the next generation of journalists, filmmakers, photographers and producers to grow and develop. As Ireland’s retail bank of the future, we understand the importance of supporting and encouraging students on their chosen career path from an early stage. We look forward to celebrating with this year’s applicants and winners at what promises to be a fantastic event for all involved.”

National journalists and broadcasters judge the awards each year. 2015's judges include Fionnan Sheehan - Editor of the Irish Independent, Tim Vaughan - Editor of the Irish Examiner, Cathy Fox - Executive producer of The Late Late Show, Lenny Abrahamson - Multi-award winning director, and Darragh O'Connell - Founder of Brown Bag Animation and Multi-Academy Award nominee. This year’s panel promises to be even more impressive.

Organiser Colman Byrne said "We are delighted to once again be returning to the Aviva Stadium for the awards. The venue is so iconic and is a fitting setting for awards which announce the media stars of tomorrow. Thanks to the generous support from our title sponsor KBC Bank Ireland we hope that this year will be the best year yet for the Smedias".

Entries open on the 1st of February with a deadline for receipt of the 3rd of March. 
The awards will be presented in the Aviva Stadium on the night of the 7th of April.